A River, Not a Fountain

It’s been an interesting challenge this year to consistently blog once a week. We’re almost halfway through the year, and by some miracle, I’ve managed to (just about) keep to my Sunday post schedule. Even more miraculously, I haven’t deleted any of these posts (although I’ve edited them, but that doesn’t count, right?).

As much as I’d like to pretend how effortless this process has been so far, the honest truth is that IT SUCKS. Free feel to quote me on that.

I say that I love writing, but what the hell am I writing about on this blog anyway? It’s not a lifestlye or fashion blog. I write about books and films, but not enough to claim that as the theme of my blogging. Sometimes it just feels like a random jumble of words I threw together in a haphazard concoction to meet a deadline. It’s a strange type of self-inflicted torture to find something mildly interesting to write about each week, for no other reason than the odd fact that I want to. 

I often have plenty of ideas, but never enough to time to expand them into a higher quality post worth reading. And so, my sixty-something draft posts lay in waiting, only to get overlooked. Even I don’t know if they’ll ever see the light of day.

A friend recently asked me if my consistent posting has made a difference to the blog traffic. I thought about it for thirty seconds, double checked the web statistics, and realised that actually,  it has made a difference, albeit a tiny difference. This blog is hardly popular, but it’s still more popular than in the past where I would half-heartedly post twice a year. Who’d have thought…

My friend was quite positive about this change. In no time at all, she told me confidently, plenty of people would be reading my blog, and I’d finally ‘make it’ as a writer.

The pessimist in me isn’t so sure. 

If all it took to ‘make it’ was consistent posting, I’d be uploading a new post every hour, seven days a week. It’s true that consistency is important, but blog posts also need to be interesting enough to make people want to come back. 

There are plenty of blogs out there that also post on a schedule, but never achieve much recognition. I think of it as a fountain: you see fresh water coming out all the time, but it’s not fresh at all. It’s just the same water that runs through the same cycle again and again. As a blogger, I cannot afford to recycle the same content over and over. As the fountain water would grow stagnant, so will my words.

I want readers to enjoy what I write. I want to give them something to think about. I want to give them something to look forward to the next week. 

And I can’t do that if I’m struggling to find enough time to set aside to focus on writing. I don’t know if I’m being overly self-critical, but the quality of the past few posts has been rushed and less coherent. Although, I suppose, the perks of having a little-known blog is that I don’t have enough readers to notice the difference! 

I’m not always so pessimistic, after all.

Still, I’m stubbornly chipping away at this weekly schedule thing, in the hopes that it actually gets me somewhere.

I’m too close to the source to know if my blog is like a fountain. I’d like to think of it as a river instead: always new, always moving forward until it reaches the vast ocean. Only time will tell, but for now, I’ll keep my weekly post updates.

Best wishes,

Jia

Leave a Reply

